This is London Calling

This is London Calling

(Marwood) #1

Hi, I’m James. I’m a consultant for a little boutique consultancy, based in the UK. I’m mostly based in London, but I spend a lot of time travelling.

I got involved with productivity around 2003/4, after messing up a lot at work, and being told, to sort my stuff out. A colleague threw me a copy of GTD, and it went from there. 15 or so years later, I’d still consider myself a slightly advanced beginner.

I cam across this site, looking for a quality intro for GTD for an old university friend. I miss the old Wiki article, which was really useful.

What’s one thing you’ve learned that has impacted you most?

That’s a deep question. If we’re talking across my whole life, and disallowing fundamental things like language, then it’s probably that it’s OK to be eccentric. I’d be a lot less happy if I tried to keep that bottled up.

If we’re talking productivity, it’s that there’s no point in trying to keep work and non-work systems separate. I don’t have hard lines between the two. My work thoughts follow me home and my home thoughts follow me to work. I can’t see how they’d not.

(Beck Tench) #2

Welcome, James. :slight_smile:

I agree w/your two lessons and appreciate how thoughtful they are.

(Marwood) #3

Thanks Beck, much appreciated.

(Wilson Ng) #4

Yes, the notion of work-life balance has blurred so much. They complement each other like yin and yang. The work life puts food on the table. But if I can use my creative energy in work, the rewards will cross-stream into my personal life. I’m more gratified when I’m able to help others in work life and personal life.

Thanks for the reminder!

(Justin DiRose) #5

Welcome James!

There’s nothing more powerful than being your honest, authentic self. It’s hard to be okay with that sometimes, but a fantastic journey to pursue.