Self introduction

Self introduction

(Greg Newman) #1

Hello all, I’ve been lurking here for a few months reading new and old threads and thought I’d post my introduction. I’m not sure if this is the right place or not.

I’m a (older) software craftsman currently working for a company in SF as a senior python dev. I’m also a working artist (gregnewman.org) and study classical guitar.

I’ve used Omnifocus on and off since it’s predecessor (can’t remember the name of it) was an omnioutliner hack. I tried the bullet journal and after a year it didn’t stick. I loved TeuxDeux and used it for a few years, but the lack of an api has driven me away so about six months ago I went back to OF. I came to realize after years of fudging it that I needed to reread GTD and stick to it. So far it’s been smooth sailing.

Looking forward to discussions and new ideas here.

(Justin DiRose) #2

Welcome @gnewman!

Just checked out your artwork – beautiful stuff. It must take a lot of patience and time to develop those pieces. Awesome you’re a dev too. As am I and many others here!

Good for you for trying it for a year. That’s commitment :slight_smile:

I’ve been finding myself that even after reading GTD 8 years ago that I need regular refreshers. Just recently after a conversation with a friend did I realize that I haven’t fully been capturing items into my system. Yikes.

But again, welcome here! Feel free to jump in on any topic or create new ones yourself for any questions you may have or thoughts you have to share!

(Wilson Ng) #3

Structure helps to breed creativity. Developing a productivity workflow via a system such as GTD or Bullet Journal frees our minds of all the clutter and allows us to focus on our creative endeavors. Once you get a productivity workflow going, it’ll be easier to translate it into an analog notebook system or a digital task manager.