Hello from Atlanta

Hello from Atlanta

(John Johnson) #1

Tell us who you are and what you do.

I’m a PhD student trying to keep all the plates in the air between teaching, doing research, writing, reading, …

How did you first get into the productivity world?

I think I started with OF2 early in its life, went around the world (Agenda, Things, etc.) and now am back to OF3.

How did you find the Guild?

Probably by way of Kourosh Dini’s twitter account.

What’s one thing you’ve learned that has impacted you most?

Doing meaningful things is hard, but gratifying. Doing easy things isn’t (usually) gratifying.

(Beck Tench) #2

I’m a PhD student, too. Welcome!

What are you studying?

(John Johnson) #3

Hi Beck!
Took a look at your website. Interesting work you’re doing. I’m reading Kourosh Dini’s Workflow Mastery now, and your use of the word contemplative makes me think you might be interested in it too.

My research is about how motor and sensory differences after amputation change the ways that people with amputation think about and perform reach and grasp tasks using prostheses. By studying this in people with amputation, we can gain insight into how these processes work for intact people, as well as clinical populations like stroke survivors.

(Beck Tench) #4

Hi John – your research sounds important and interesting! Do you ever come across the body’s storage of trauma when you’re reading about or designing prostheses? I have only recently started to understand how the body can override cognitive processes with its own powerful emotional and psychological loops.

Can you say a couple sentences about what you’re learning from the eBook and how it’s related to contemplative? The preview link on his website isn’t working. Thanks!

(John Johnson) #5