Digital, Analog, or Hybrid

Digital, Analog, or Hybrid

(Jonathan Ball) #1

Greetings! I am a restaurant manager and this means a fun and chaotic environment. I enjoy using Things 3 but I am also prone to a analog productivity system. I think there is value in writing things down as I think it helps the mind. I would like to use my planner at work but it seems inconvenient so I rely on my digital task manager which is ok but my phone creates distraction. Any advice?

November Pro Newsletter -- Prioritize Responsibly
(Ed M) #2

What makes it “inconvenient”? You might consider using a smaller form factor for your “carry around” planner. I frequently put a small Moleskine pocket notebook and pocketable Fisher Space Pen in a pocket and use it for notes, actions, etc. Having some quiet time during the day to transfer notes from my pocket notebooks to my permanent record (analog or digital or both) is useful time for reflection and focus.

An advantage of using a pocket notebook is it doesn’t ring, beep, or invite me to browse the internet :slight_smile:

(Jonathan Ball) #3

There are 3 Managers, a chef, and a sous chef. We all share a very small office and none of us really spend any time in it. My planner remains in my bags most days because of the limited space.
I do like the idea of using a pocket notebook as I have used them in the past. Here is what I don’t like about them:
Moleskines and Field Notes paper is not very thick and in bleeds through
I sweat a lot (sorry that’s gross) and the front cover usually tears
I would love to find a notebook with thicker paper and sturdier covers. Any suggestions?

(Hugo Castellanos) #4

My 2 cents: A possible solution is getting a journalist notebook. It can be a $3 one from CVS or a sleeker one like this one from Amazon