DEVONthink and Backups

DEVONthink and Backups

(Ja'acov Goldberg ) #1

Hi Justin: I decided to move forward with DEVONthink Pro & To Go for my iPhone. Can you share with me your thoughts on what back up system you recommend, eg. iCloud or Dropbox. Also, do you suggest an external hard drive device too??? Please let me know & hope you are having a productive week.

DEVONthink To Go 2.6.5 Released
Holidays are About People 🎅 — December 2018 Pro Newsletter

Thought I’d throw in my experience with DEVONthink which I’ve been using for four years now (I cannot believe 2014 was four almost five years ago!). For my sync store, I use iCloud as the primary, I’ve found it incredibly fast, and I’ve never had an issue. I also set up a sync store with Dropbox and its only purpose is if iCloud fails miserably one day I can easily switch to Dropbox, but since the release of the beta with iCloud support earlier this year I’ve never had an issue.

For backups, they provide a script that will create a ZIP archive of your database. I have a Keyboard Maestro timed macro that runs on Tuesday, Thursday, and Sunday at 3 A.M. that creates individual ZIP archives for all open databases. Hazel then moves these ZIP files onto my Synology which is backed up by Arq to BackBlaze B2 Cloud. I’ve occasionally had to recover a file from a database archive and found it to be straightforward to do so.

@Wilsonng, I was skeptical at first, but when DTTG version 2 was released, they made it into its own application rather than trying to port DTPO to iOS. I’ve never had an issue with the iPhone screen size, but it’s possible that is because I mainly use the iPhone app for quickly capturing data and reading text files or PDFs which auto size due to the PDF rendering in DTTG.

(Justin DiRose) #3